Daniel’s On A Roll (4)

by wjw on July 8, 2008

Just when you began to suspect this blog was going to be all about me all the time, here I prove you wrong.

An Autumn War, the third book of Daniel Abraham’s Long Price Quartet, is about to be released.

I’ve read the book in manuscript, and it’s spectacularly good. Buy it and read it, along with the other books in the series.

If you don’t believe me, here’s Paul deFilippo over on SciFi Weekly.

“Three-quarters of the way through The Long Price Quartet, a journey that began with A Shadow in Summer (2006) and continued through A Betrayal in Winter (2007), Daniel Abraham tosses a spanner into his carefully and lovingly contrived subcreation which ensures that readers will be perched on the edges of their seats for an unfathomable resolution in next year’s The Price of Spring . . .

“And what does Abraham focus on, then? Shakespearean high tragedy (no comedy, by the way), where the seeds planted by the characters’ vices and virtues bear their eventual fruit. (Consider that the second volume was practically a retelling of Macbeth.) He’s meticulous in following the threads he began three books ago (some 25 years to 30 years pass for the characters) to their destined ends, providing much emotional heft and resonance.

“By daring to destroy his subcreation, Abraham regenerates an entire mode of fantasy.”

No, I don’t know what that means, either. But check it out anyway.

Lawrence M. Schoen July 9, 2008 at 11:36 am

I preordered a copy weeks ago. Unfortunately, it arrives here in PA after I’ve left for CO. A few days earlier, and I’d have been able to get Daniel to sign it in Denver.

By the way, my copy of IMPLIED SPACES finally arrived here late last week. I’m enjoying it immensely!

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post:

Contact Us | Terms of User | Trademarks | Privacy Statement

Copyright © 2010 WJW. All Rights Reserved.